A very short note in praise of the club

A tiny footnote to Sunday’s match report.

When I wrote it I knew that a tragedy had occurred. I worried people on their way to our match might have been affected. I didn’t know for certain the already heavy toll it had taken on our club.

As things went horribly wrong on the pitch last season I questioned Paul Barber’s leadership on these pages. It is only right to post back and say how wrong I was. Turning it round on the pitch is one thing (and we’ve done that) but conducting yourself with such dignity and professionalism at such a difficult time takes a very special set of people. Nor is it the first time as I’m sure relatives of Don Lock and Sarah Watts would attest. I am more proud than I’ve ever been of the club I support.

Sometimes it takes a tragedy to bring people together. I wish it hadn’t.

Leave a Reply

